To Garden or Not to Garden

I am counting down the days until I can make it back over to my community garden and check on the next round of seeds I planted this past weekend. The mustard and radish sprouts were already up when I last visited, and it will only be a matter of weeks before I can eat baby salad greens to my heart’s content!

My boyfriend, my roommate, and I rented two full size garden plots to share, and it’s been so helpful to pool everyone’s garden knowledge as we plan where to plant what and when. When the three of us put our heads together, I expect there will be plenty of food to eat and then some to put up for the winter. Now that I think about it, ever since I started gardening away from home, I have teamed up with at least one other person. To me, this has felt like a better guarantee that something will definitely grow.

But do you necessarily need to work with garden gurus who have all the know-how about gardening? Of course not. I attended a meet up on gardening yesterday where we talked about the barriers people may face in getting started, and many people identified the fear of failure. Who wants to spend lots of time planting seeds and weeding if things might not grow well? Like any skill, gardening may take some trial and error, but the error is how we’ll learn. And chances are that something will grow. We could think about this in terms of costs and benefits and the break-even point of investing in the garden, but maybe the first thing we can share with potential new gardeners is to enjoy the process rather than worrying too much about the results.

Leave a Reply

